devo's volleyball

http://devovolleyball.com – Australian volleyball: news and views

Goodbye “Uncle” Bill

Posted by devo on January 17, 2010

We have heard today of the passing of Bill Glasson, an institution in Victorian Volleyball.

Our thoughts are with Bill’s family and friends. A friend that Mrs devo and I will miss chatting to.

UPDATE: Bill’s funeral will be held on Thursday 21st January at 12PM at Le Pine Chapel, 1096 Burwood Hwy, Ferntree Gully.

11 Responses to “Goodbye “Uncle” Bill”

  1. Sally B said

    R.I.P Bill…You will be sadly missed…I too will miss chatting to you…

  2. Joe said

    A gentleman of the game.

  3. Alexis said

    My condolences to Bill’s family.

  4. ross said

    It is hard to imagine a Victorian Junior Volleyball team without Bill sitting on the sidelines. Bill has been a mentor for many years to myself and other coaches. Bill was a ‘one of a kind’ and I will sadly miss his friendship.

  5. Dan said

    Bill was my most recent mentor, even when he wasnt working wth the boys teams, he would come over and when he saw us train he would then catch up with me and in his own personable way, he would let me know what I needed to do to improve. My heart goes out to Paul and David and families. Bill will be missed, a great person with his heart in the right place.

  6. Eldo said

    Rest in peace Bill.

    A true gentleman coach of the sport who was respected by all. Victorian volleyball has been greatly served by Bill in his work at his school and in state volleyball. Bill certainly made the world a better place and that is all one could ask. Goodbye Bill – Great memories of you.

  7. Luke said

    Absolute legend, Bill has help me throughout my playing career on and off the court. True gentleman

  8. Neil Cocks said

    I worked with Bill whilst it was my privilege to be a committee memeber of the EMVA and I was equipment officer, so Bill and I were always talking about the gear he needed at school and I helped out during trainings sometimes too !
    Sorry to hear of his passing.

    Neil Cocks
    Mikasa Sports Australia

  9. Alan Cahill said

    Very sad to hear of the passing of a great bloke who always greeted you with a smile.

    R.I.P Bill

  10. Gary said

    The chats at State training will be sadly missed, mentor coach of mine for many years. A true gentleman

  11. Michael said

    Bill gave me my first opportunity to coach in this country and I am forever endebited to him. RIP bill you will be missed.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
