devo's volleyball – Australian volleyball: news and views

Brazil, Cuba and Japan will win medal

Posted by devo on November 23, 2009

Brazil, Cuba and Japan were confirmed as FIVB Men’s World Grand Champions Cup 2009 medallists on Sunday after all three finished the penultimate day of competition … in an unbeatable position at the head of the tournament standings. Defending champions Brazil lead the rankings with four victories following a 3-0 (25-21, 25-22, 25-22) win over Egypt while Cuba beat Japan 3-0 (25-19, 25-20, 25-22) and Poland earned their first win of the tournament beating Iran (25-23, 18-25, 28-26, 25-23). Defeat for Iran guaranteed Japan a podium finish for the first time in 32 years at an FIVB event.

With one day of competition remaining, world number one Brazil are the only unbeaten side while Cuba and Japan have both suffered one defeat each. Iran and Poland, who needed Cuba to lose to Japan in the last match of the day to keep their medal chances alive, are fourth and fifth respectively with one win apiece. Egypt will be hoping to beat Poland on Monday to claim their first win of the competition. more@fivb

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: