devo's volleyball

http://devovolleyball.com – Australian volleyball: news and views

Arabic Club Championships

Posted by devo on February 25, 2009

UPDATE 4: Originally posted 22/2/09 – Luke Campbell at the Arabic Club Championships

Match 4 Another win, 3-0 in fact and we are through to the quarter finals of the Arabian Club Championships. … tonight we were pretty much on song. They had their 2 stars and we had our whole team. It’s funny at this level how far 2 players will actually get you though, although once we got our act into gear and actually carried out our tactics we did win each set comfortably … As our setter is quite old and not so physical I get to play around on the block a fair bit which I love … But I think the coolest thing that has happened so far is Prince Abdulla calling from Saudi to wish us luck and say that he would be watching our game today on TV. Good thing we won I reckon. more …

3rd game and 3rd win: This time 3-1 against a team from Yemen. I’m pretty sure it would be fair to say they are the worst team in our pool, so a few questions need to be asked I think. There is no doubt we relaxed for the game, this was clear in warm up, and the coach was resting a few of the older players who have hit a lot of ball already. But giving up a set to these guys was pretty poor. I really ask myself, are we as good as I thought? As I’ve only been around the team for a little over 2 weeks its hard to know what is a normal, bad and great performance. more …

Match 2: Today we played our 2nd match and had another 3-0 win, same result but very different performance. Where last night we crushed our opponent tonight we didn’t play anywhere as well as a team … more …

Luke’s blog reports on 1st Game of Arabic Club Champs: Tonight we played our first group game of the tournament and won 3-0 in a pretty impressive display of block defence. The first set we really crushed them, to 11, I only went across the front court one time for the set! The next 2 were closer, about 20 and 20 but we were in control the whole time. more…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
